Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee Members


  Bertram Arbesser-Rastburg




Bertram Arbesser-Rastburg is senior advisor at SpaceTec Partners and runs his own consultancy company. After studying Electrical Engineering at the Technical University of Graz, Austria, he worked as research assistant with T.U.-Graz and then as Propagation Engineer at INTELSAT in Washington, D.C.

In 1988 he joined the European Space Agency where he was initially responsible for the planning and implementation of wave propagation studies for all aspects of satellite communication, navigation and earth observation. From 2007 to 2013 he was Head of the Electromagnetics and Space Environment Division of the European Space Agency, responsible for R&D and project support in the fields of antennas, propagation, EMC and space environment. He supported the EGNOS and the Galileo Programme in questions of propagation effects and in the development of correction algorithms and we was actively involved in numerous studies for satellite communications and earth observation.

He has co-authored more than 130 papers – his main interest being propagation effects on space-to-ground links. From 2007 to 2015 he was Chairman of ITU-R Study Group 3. He was coordinator of the European part of the SBAS-IONO Group and Executive Secretary of the Galileo Science Advisory Committee. 

He is a Fellow of the IEEE and member of EurAAP, EuMA, ION, OVN, AGU and IEICE. He is a regular lecturer at the ESA/JRC GNSS Summer School. He organised PIERS 1994 and EuMW 2012 and was vice chair of AP2000 and EuCAP 2006.

He was member of the EurAAP Board of Directors from 2007 to 2014 and he is member of the EuCAP Steering Committee since 2006.




Bruno Casali was born in Livorno, Italy in 1956. He received the Physics Diploma cum Laude in 1981 from the University of Pisa, Italy, presenting a work on "Quasi-termonuclear Plasma for Nuclear Fusion".

Since 1983 he worked in IDS Ingegneria dei Sistemi, a private company offering products and services in Antenna simulation and design and siting, Ground probing radar, Electromagnetic studies in airports and other dense e.m. scenarios, contributing to the IDS success, measurable from the personnel growth from 6 in 1983 to 500 persons in 2014.
In 2004-2007, he was the Coordinator of the FP6 Network ACE - Antenna Centre of Excellence, involving the 51 most prominent antenna research centres in Europe.
In 2005, he was a founder of EurAAP, the European Association on Antennas and Propagation, where he took the role of Secretary/Treasurer.


   Per Ingvarson

   Email : 






Per Ingvarson received the M.S. in Electrical Engineering in 1968 and the Ph.D. in Electron Physics and Radio Astronomy in 1973 from Chalmers University of Technology. Since 1973, he has been with RUAG Space (formerly Ericsson, Saab Ericsson Space, Saab Space, and RUAG Aerospace Sweden) working with antennas, mainly for satellites, as Head of Antenna Department and later as Chief Engineer. During 2004-7 he was Technical Coordinator of the Antenna Centre of Excellence, involving the 45 most prominent antenna centres in Europe. He was Vice Chair for COST 284 on "Innovative Antennas for Emerging Terrestrial & Space-based Applications", and he is a founder of EurAAP, the European Association on Antennas and Propagation.

He is now retired and member of the Advisory Committee of EurAAP and the Steering Committee of EuCAP. He is also a member of the Steering Committee of The Swedish Society of Aeronautics and Astronautics, a member of SNRV (The “Swedish URSI”), Commission B, and a life member of IEEE.

  Juan R. Mosig


Email :



 Juan R. Mosig was born in Cadiz, Spain. He received the Electrical Engineer  degree  from  the  Universidad  Politecnica  de  Madrid, Madrid,  Spain,  in  1973,  and  the  Ph.D.  degree  from  the  Ecole Polytechnique     Fédérale     de     Lausanne     (EPFL),     Lausanne, Switzerland, in 1983. Since 1991, he has been a Professor in the Laboratory of Electromagnetics and Acoustics (LEMA) at EPFL and its Director since 1999. He has held  scientific  appointments with the Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY, USA; the Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY, USA; the University of Colorado at Boulder, USA; University of Rennes, Rennes, France; University of Nice, Nice, France and the Technical University of  Denmark, Lyngby, Danemark.

 Dr. Mosig is a IEEE Fellow (1999) and has been a member of the IEEE APS AdCom, first as Transnational Delegate and currently as EurAAP representative. He has also been a member of  the Swiss Federal Commission for Space Applications, the Chairman of the EPFL  Space  Center,   the  Director  of  the  Electrical  Engineering Section at  EPFL and  a  Vice-Dean of  the  Humanities  and  Social Sciences College at EPFL.

He has authored four chapters in books on planar antennas and circuits and over 200 reviewed  papers. He is the recipient of the 2015 IEEE APS Schelkunoff Award for the best Transactions AP paper of the year. His  research  interests include electromagnetic theory, numerical methods, and planar antennas.

Dr.  Mosig  has  been  the  Swiss  Delegate  for  European  COST Antenna Actions since the  1980's and the Chair for the two last completed Actions 284 and IC0603 ASSIST (2003–2011). He is now a member of the COST Senior Scientific Committee. During  2004-7  he  was  Vice-Coordinator  of  the  European  FP6 Network of Excellence ACE, that enabled the EuCAP Conference series. He has also served as member of the Board in the European Network "Metamorphose" and in the Coordination Actions  ARTIC (FP6) and CARE (FP7).

He  is  a  founding  member  of  the  European  Association  on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP) that he chaired from 2005 to 2015. He was also the Chair of the Steering Committee organizing the   EuCAP   Conferences   series   (2006-2015).  He   will   be   the Conference Chair for EuCAP’2016 (Davos, Switzerland, April 10-15, 2016).