EurAAP Awards 2022

We are glad to announce the following winners of the EurAAP and EuCAP 2022 Awards:

Winners of the EuCAP Best Paper Awards and Best Student Paper Awards

We are glad to announce the following winners of the EuCAP 2022 Best Paper Awards:


(1570771378) “Quantum-Assisted Combinatorial Optimization of Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces”, Qi Jian Lim (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA), Charles Ross (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA), Gabriele Gradoni (University of Nottingham, United Kingdom (Great Britain)), Zhen Peng (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) 

Theory and Design Antenna

(1570771202) “Core-Shell Leaky-Wave Lens Antenna for 150GHz Fly's Eye Communication Systems”, Nick van Rooijen, Maria Alonso-delPino, Marco Spirito and Nuria LLombart (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)

Applied Technology Antenna

(1570770579) “Planar Glide-Symmetric Dielectric Half-Luneburg Lens at K/Ka-Band”, Oskar Zetterstrom and Pilar Castillo-Tapia (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden); Jose-Manuel Poyanco (University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain); Nelson Fonseca (European Space Agency, The Netherlands); Francisco Pizarro (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, Chile); Oscar Quevedo-Teruel (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)


(1570770532) “Measurement Based Identification of MPCs in an Urban Drone-To-Drone Propagation Scenario”, Dennis Becker and Uwe-Carsten G. Fiebig (German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany) 


(1570770320) “Fully Coherent UAV-Based Near-Field Measurement and Transformation of the S67-15m Ground Station Antenna at the German Space Operations Center in Weilheim”, Stefan Punzet (Technical University of Munich & Chair of High-Frequency Engineering (HFT), Germany), Fabian T. Faul and Thomas Mittereder (Technical University of Munich, Germany), Christian Oettl, Matthias Ganser and Martin Häusler (DLR Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V., Germany), Thomas F. Eibert (Technical University of Munich (TUM) & Chair of High-Frequency Engineering (HFT), Germany) 


(1570770356)  “Wideband Characterization of Holey Glide-Symmetric Parallel-Plate Waveguides” Boris Fischer and Guido Valerio (Sorbonne Université, France)


(1570770518) “A Broadband Potential-Based Boundary Element Method for Modeling Electromagnetic Scattering from Dielectrics and Conductors” Shashwat Sharma and Piero Triverio (University of Toronto, Canada)

EurAAP Awards

EurAAP Award
The EurAAP Award was established in 2011. Starting in 2015, two Awards are given each year: one in the Antenna field and one in the Propagation field.

The aim of the awards is to recognise the contribution of an individual person to technical & scientific advances, education and coordination of research & networking activities in the fields of Antennas & Propagation in Europe or in relationship to Europe.

EurAAP Antenna Award 2022: 

José Antonio Encinar Garcinuño

For his pioneer contributions to reflectarray antennas for space applications

EurAAP Propagation Award 2022:

Henry Bertoni

For the development of propagation prediction models used for the design of cellular networks


ESoA Best Teacher Award

The ESoA best teacher of the year, established in 2012, has been till recently considered an internal ESoA matter. This award is based exclusively on the evaluation forms filled out from a large number of students; it is therefore a bottom up result.

Since 2019, this unique award in the world, is now given by EurAAP during the EuCAP week.

EuCAP 2022 would like to congratulate the Best ESoA teachers this year:

EurAAP Leopold B. Felsen Award for Excellence in Electrodynamics

The “Leopold B. Felsen Award for Excellence in Electrodynamics” (henceforth “the Award”) was originally established jointly by the University of Siena and the University of Sannio, funded through a donation from Michael and Judy Felsen in fulfillment of the last wishes of their father, Professor Leo Felsen (1924-2005). Since from 2015, the Award is established by the European Association on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP).


EurAAP Leopold B. Felsen Award 2022: Íñigo Liberal

EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award

The “EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award for best PhD in Antennas & Propagation” (henceforth “the Award”) has been created through a donation from the Per-Simon Kildal Foundation (, initiated by Cécile Schilliger, Madeleine Schilliger Kildal and Susanne Schilliger Kildal, in memory of their husband and father, Professor Per-Simon Kildal (1951-2016). Since 2018, the Award is established by the European Association on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP).


EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award 2022: Mahmoud Wagih 




The TICRA Foundation and EurAAP are pleased to announce that they offer 8 grants for EuCAP 2022. 

Each grant consists of EUR 1,000 for travel and subsistence as well as a full registration and an invitation to the conference dinner. The grants was announced during the conference dinner on Wednesday 30 March 2022.


About TICRA Foundation

The objective of the TICRA Foundation is to support education and research within the field of electrotechnical sciences in Denmark and abroad. You can find more information at


TICRA Grants Awardees

The TICRA/EurAAP committee has decided to awardee to the following students:

-Dariia Herasymova (Ukraine).

- Iram Nadeem (Italy)

- Shulin Chen (Australia)

- Laura Passalacqua (Italy)

- Naman Baghel (India).

- Tomás Andrés Lira Valdés (Chile)

- Abel Zandamela (Ireland)

- Oguz Kaan Erden (Turkey)


in News
International Women's Day