EurAAP Awards History


EurAAP Awards history

1. EurAAP Antennas & Propagation Awards
2. EurAAP Leopold B. Felsen Award
3. EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award
4. ESoA Best teacher 


1. EurAAP Antennas & Propagation Awards


  • To recognise the contribution of an individual person to:
  • Advances in Antennas & Propagation
  • Education in the fields of Antennas & Propagation
  • Coordination of research & networking activities
  • In Europe or in relationship to Europe

2. EurAAP Leopold B. Felsen Award


  • Keep alive Prof. Felsen’s memory and scientific legacy
  • Foster academic excellence in the electromagneticscommunity
  • Give giving recognition to outstanding scientific contributions from early stage researchers
An article in The Radio Science Bulletin No 370 (September 2019) has been published about EurAAP Felsen Award.

3. EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award


  • Keep alive Prof. Kildal’s legacy
  • Foster the work of young researchers in the fields of Antennas and Propagation
  • Recognizes an outstanding dissertation by an individual who has earned a doctoral degree



EurAAP Antenna Award 2021: Ronan Sauleau 



EurAAP Propagation Award 2021: Luis Correia


EurAAP Felsen Award 2021: Zubin Jacob


EurAAP Kildal Award 2021:Modeste Bodehou


ESoA Best teacher 2020 (given in 2021): 

  • ESoA Certificate of appreciation for the 2 courses done under COVID: 

    - L. Foged, M. Sierra, M. Ruetschlin, G.Vecchi and the teachers of “Combination of simulation and measurements in antenna design” Paris, February 24-28 2020. (hosted by Dassault system and MVG) 

    - N. Fonseca and the teachers of “Antennas for space applications”. Noordwijk, 2-6 March 2020 (hosted by ESA-ESTEC)




EurAAP Antenna Award 2020: Hisamatsu Nakano

For contribution to the field of antennas through innovative antenna designs, realizations for modern communication systems in collaboration with European actors and for training new generations of researchers.


EurAAP Antenna Award 2020_Hisamatsu Nakano


EurAAP Propagation Award 2020: Reiner Thomä

For pioneering the multi-dimensional description of the mobile radio channel by advanced signal-processing methods.


EurAAP Propagation Award 2020_reiner thomä


EurAAP Felsen Award 2020: Dimitrios Sounas

EurAAP Award Felsen 2020_dimitrios Sounas


EurAAP Kildal Award 2020: Fatemeh Ghasemifard

EurAAP Kildal Award 2020_fatemeh ghasemifard


ESoA Best teacher 2019 (given in 2020): Fabien Ferrero and Leonardo Lizzi

ESoA 2020 best teacher_fabien Ferrero ESOA 2020 best teacher_lizzi Leonardo


EurAAP Antenna Award 2019: Ovidio Mario Bucci

For contribution to antenna synthesis and near-field measurements.

Award 2019_Antenna_Ovidio Mario Bucci


EurAAP Propagation Award 2019: André Vander Vorst

For outstanding contributions to the measurement and modelling of atmospheric propagation effects.

EurAAP Propagation Award 2019_André Vander Vorst

EurAAP Felsen Award 2019: Francesco Monticone

EurAAP Felsen Award 2019_francesco monticone


EurAAP Kildal Award 2019: Abbas Vosoogh

EurAAP Kildal Award 2019_abbas vosoogh


ESoA Best teacher 2018 (given in 2019): A. Skrivervik and G. Toso

Anja K. Skrivervik G. TOSO  




EurAAP Antenna Award 2018: Peter de Maagt

For his leadership in the European space research in submillimetre wave antennas. 

Peter de Maag

EurAAP Propagation Award 2018: Werner Wiesbeck

For long‐term pioneering contributions to research in propagation, radar and antennas and their joint application to wireless communication.

Werner Wiesbeck


EurAAP Felsen Award 2018: Giorgio Carluccio and Özgür Ergül

EurAAP Award Felsen 2018_giorgio carrluccio EurAAP Award Felsen 2018_Özgür Ergül


ESoA Best teacher 2017 (given in 2018): A. Galli




EurAAP Antenna Award 2017: Jean Charles Bolomey

For pioneering contribution to efficient modulated technology for fast electromagnetic near-field techniques and microwave imagery.

EurAAP Antenna Award 2017_jean charles Bolomey


EurAAP Propagation Award 2017: Jørgen Bach Andersen 

For pioneering contributions to research in the area of propagation and channel characterisation for their application to cellular networks, MIMO and antenna diversity.

EurAAP Propagation Award 2017_jorgen bach andersen


EurAAP Special Recognition Award 2017: Per-SimonKildal

EurAAP special Award 2017_Per Simon Kildal

EurAAP Felsen Award 2017: Juan Sebastián Gómez Díaz

EurAAP Felsen Award 2017_Juan Sebastián Gómez Díaz


ESoA Best teacher 2016 (given in 2017): G. Vecchi and L. Jofre




EurAAP Antenna Award 2016: Juan R. Mosig

For his contributions to integral equations for stratified media problems and for his leadership role as founder and chairman of EuCAP and EuRAAP.


EurAAP Propagation Award 2016: Ernst Bonek

For worldwide leadership and management of propagation research in general and specifically in the area of channel modelling for multiple-input multiple-output systems.

EurAAP Propagation Award 2016_ernst Bonek


ESoA Best teacher 2015 (given in 2016): O. Breinbjerg

Olav Breinbjerg  




EurAAP Antenna Award 2015: W. Ross Stone

For outstanding achievements in the field of antennas and for establishing and improving the relationships among Europe and USA in antennas and propagation. 

W. Ross Stone


EurAAP Propagation Award 2015: Bertram Arbesser-Rastburg

For worldwide leadership and management of propagation research in general and specifically in the area of satellite propagation and for his significant contributions in making the EuCAP series a success.

ESoA Best teacher 2014 (given in 2015): Yahya Rahmat Samii

Yahya Rahmat Samii  



EurAAP Award 2014: Stefano Maci

For restructuring the high-level education in Europe through the "European School of Antennas and Propagation" (ESoA)


ESoA Best teacher 2013 (given in 2014): O. Breinbjerg

Olav Breinbjerg  




EurAAP Award 2013: Antoine Roederer

EurAAP Award 2013_antoine roederer


ESoA Best teacher 2012 (given in 2013): Werner Wiesbeck

For long‐term pioneering contributions to research in propagation, radar and antennas and their joint application to wireless communication.

Werner Wiesbeck




EurAAP Award 2012: Peter S. Hall

EurAAP Award 2012_ Peter s hall




EuCAP logo