# **EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award**

# EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award for best PhD in Antennas & Propagation

The "EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award for best PhD in Antennas & Propagation" (henceforth "the Award") has been created through a donation from the Per-Simon Kildal Foundation (https://www.kildal.se/foundation/), initiated by Cécile Schilliger, Madeleine Schilliger Kildal and Susanne Schilliger Kildal, in memory of their husband and father, Professor Per-Simon Kildal (1951-2016). Since 2018, the Award is established by the European Association on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP).

#### Aim

The main purpose of the EurAAP Kildal Award is to keep alive Prof. Kildal's legacy, as well as to foster the work of young researchers in the fields of Antennas and Propagation. This award recognizes an outstanding CV by PhD students or by individual who has earned a doctoral degree between January 1<sup>st</sup> January, 2020 and December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2021. The dissertation can be in any discipline in the field of antennas and propagation.

Selection will be based on the quality and significance of the candidate's contribution to the field, and on the recommendation of the referees.

## **Eligibility**

The Award, by nomination only, will be presented annually to an early-stage researcher. Candidates for the award must be nominated by their PhD supervisor.

Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD:

- at an academic institution in Europe
- in a field related to Antennas and Propagation
- in the period from 1 January 2020 31 December 2021

#### **Procedure**

The Award will be officially presented every year at the banquet of the European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP). The award consists of a prize of 750 euro, which will be funded by the Per-Simon Kildal Foundation through a donation, a plaque and a free EuCAP banquet ticket. The nominators will be asked to submit the following items:

- A filled nomination form at Awards | EurAAP;
- A letter of nomination from the dissertation advisor stating the value of the dissertation in terms of its originality, significance, and potential applications in the field of antennas and propagation.
- An extended abstract of the PhD thesis (maximum six pages) including a list of refereed publications resulting directly from that dissertation.
- Three representative publications related to the work of the thesis
- At least two and no more than three supporting letters (not counting the nomination letter from the dissertation advisor), all of which must be from institutions outside the one granting the dissertation. One of the letters must be from industry.

A committee chaired by Stefano Maci and including four prominent scientists chosen by the EurAAP Board of Directors (BoD), in consultation with the Kildal family, will be in charge for the selection. The 2022 EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award Committee is composed by:

- Prof. Stefano Maci (Chair)
- Prof. Eva Rajo Iglesias
- Prof. Ahmed Kishk
- Prof. Zvonimir Sipus
- Dr. Marta Martinez Vasquez

The committee will assign the Award on the basis of:

- 1. Originality, influence, and relevance to the field.
- 2. Relevance and quality of the thesis and selected papers.
- 3. Scientific standing of the candidate.

The selection will be made based only on the contributions made during the course of the PhD. The Award Committee has the option of not giving an award for any given year if not enough submissions of quality and relevance have been received.

### **Nominations**

Nomination forms must be submitted by 31 January, 2022, together with the publications and endorsements requested using the nomination form available at <a href="Awards">Awards</a> | EurAAP. The Awards Committee will inform the BoD of the final decision before February 28th, 2022. All the documents should be sent via email to <a href="KildalAward@euraap.org">KildalAward@euraap.org</a> (Prof. Maci with copy to the Chair of the EurAAP Awards Committee and the EurAAP Chair).

**Prof. Stefano Maci** University of Siena

**Prof. Eva Rajo-Iglesias**Chair of the EurAAP Awards Committee

**Dr. Stefania Monni** EurAAP Chair