EurAAP Awards 2020

EurAAP is happy to announce the recipients of its 2020 Awards.

 All the awardees made significant contributions to our community, through research and teaching. We warmly congratulate all the awardeees!

EurAAP Award

The EurAAP Award was established in 2011. Starting in 2015, two Awards are given each year: one in the Antenna field and one in the Propagation field.

The aim of the awards is to recognise the contribution of an individual person to technical & scientific advances, education and coordination of research & networking activities in the fields of Antennas & Propagation in Europe or in relationship to Europe.

Hisamatsu Nakano-1


EurAAP Antenna Award 2020: Hisamatsu Nakano 

For contribution to the field of antennas through innovative antenna designs, realizations for modern communication systems in collaboration with European actors and for training new generations of researchers.




 Reiner S. Thomä

EurAAP Propagation Award 2020: Reiner S. Thomä

For pioneering the multi-dimensional description of the mobile radio channel by advanced signal-processing methods.







EurAAP Leopold B. Felsen Award

Dimitrios Sounas

The “Leopold B. Felsen Award for Excellence in Electrodynamics”, was originally established jointly by the University of Siena and the University of Sannio, funded through a donation from Michael and Judy Felsen in fulfilment of the last wishes of their father, Professor Leo Felsen (1924-2005). Since 2015, the Award is established by the European Association on Antennas and Propagation. The main purpose of the Award is to keep alive Prof. Felsen’s memory and scientific legacy, as well as to foster academic excellence in the electromagnetics community, by giving recognition to outstanding fundamental contributions from early stage researchers in electrodynamics.

EurAAP Leopold B. Felsen Award 2020: Dimitrios Sounas




EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award

Fatemeh Ghasemifard

The “EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award for best PhD in Antennas & Propagation” was created through a donation from Cécile Schilliger, Madeleine Schilliger Kildal and Susanne Schilliger Kildal, in memory of their husband and father, Professor Per-Simon Kildal (1951-2016). Since 2018, the Award is established by the European Association on Antennas and Propagation. The purpose of the Award is to keep alive Prof. Kildal’s legacy, as well as to foster the work of young researchers in the fields of Antennas and Propagation. This award recognizes an outstanding CV by PhD students or by individual who is has earned a doctoral degree between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2019 in any discipline in the field of antennas and propagation.

EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award 2020: Fatemeh Ghasemifard


EurAAP/ESoA Best teacher Award

Fabien Ferrero

This award recognises the best teachers of the European School of Antennas, according to the students’ evaluations, for the courses held in 2019.

EurAAP/ESoA Best Teacher Award 2020: Fabien Ferrero and Leonardo Lizzi

orga news